# SOUTH YORKSHIRE PENSIONS AUTHORITY

# 13 JUNE 2019

PRESENT: Councillor M Stowe (Chair)

Councillors: A Atkin, A Law, S Cox, D Hurst, A Murphy, A Sangar, A Teal, N Wright and T Yasseen

Trade Unions: N Doolan-Hamer (Unison) and D Patterson (UNITE)

Investment Advisors: T Gardener and L Robb

Officers: J Bailey (Head of Pensions Administration), F Bourne (Corporate Administrator), N Copley (Treasurer), A Frosdick (Monitoring Officer), G Graham (Fund Director), M McCarthy (Deputy Clerk), G Richards (Senior Democratic Services Officer), S Smith (Head of Investments) and G Taberner (Head of Finance and Corporate Services)

D Booth (BCPP Ltd)

Apologies for absence were received from G Warwick

## 1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mick Stowe be appointed as Chair of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR</u>

RESOLVED: That Councillor John Mounsey be appointed as Vice-Chair for the forthcoming year.

3 <u>MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY</u>

The Chair welcomed Councillor Sue Ellis, former Chair of the Authority, as an observer to the meeting. He proposed that a letter of thanks be sent to Councillor Ellis for all her hard work for the Authority, especially with regard to the setting up and transition of assets to the Border to Coast Pensions Partnership.

A report was presented on the membership of the Authority. The current membership was noted as:

| Barnsley                      | Doncaster                                   | Rotherham                      | Sheffield   |
|-------------------------------|---|--------------------------------|---|
| Cllr M Stowe<br>Cllr N Wright | Cllr J Mounsey<br>Cllr S Cox<br>Cllr P Wray | Cllr A Atkin<br>Cllr T Yasseen | Cllr D Hurst<br>Cllr A Law<br>Cllr A Murphy<br>Cllr A Sangar<br>Cllr A Teal |

## RESOLVED:

- i) That the membership of the Authority be noted.
- ii) That a letter of thanks be sent to Councillor Sue Ellis for all her hard work for the Authority.

#### 4 QUESTIONS IN MEETINGS OF DISTRICT COUNCILS

A report was submitted to consider the appointment of representatives of the Authority to answer questions raised in meetings of the District Councils and to feedback District Council pension issues at each meeting of the Pensions Authority.

The appointments and substitutes for 2019/2020 were noted as follows:

| Council       | Spokesperson | Substitute     |
|---------------|--------------|----------------|
| Barnsley MBC  | Cllr M Stowe | Cllr N Wright  |
| Doncaster MBC | TBC          | TBC            |
| Rotherham MBC | Cllr A Atkin | Cllr T Yasseen |
| Sheffield CC  | Cllr A Law   | Cllr A Sangar  |

As there was only one member of Doncaster MBC present it was decided that this appointment be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority.

RESOLVED: That Members:

- i) Agree the Section 41 appointments as detailed above.
- ii) Note that the appointment of a Doncaster MBC Section 41 representative and substitute would be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority.

#### 5 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

A report was submitted to consider the appointment of the Authority's Committees and their Chairs for 2019/2020.

Membership was confirmed as follows:

| Audit Committee           | Staffing, Appointments & Appeals<br>Committee |
|---------------------------|---|
| Cllr Alan Atkin           | Cllr Alan Atkin                               |
| Cllr Steve Cox            | Cllr Alan Law                                 |
| Cllr Alan Law             | Cllr John Mounsey                             |
| Cllr John Mounsey (Chair) | Cllr Andrew Sangar                            |
| Cllr Mick Stowe           | Cllr Mick Stowe (Chair)                       |
|                           |   |

RESOLVED: That the membership of the Authority's Committees and their Chairs be agreed as detailed above.

#### 6 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE CLERK</u>

A report was submitted which requested the Authority to approve the appointment of the Clerk following the retirement of the former Clerk Diana Terris.

Members were reminded that since the winding up of South Yorkshire Joint Secretariat, the office of the Clerk had been held by Diana Terris, the Chief Executive of BMBC. Ms Terris had retired at the end of May 2019. It was therefore necessary to appoint a successor.

It was suggested that the newly appointed Chief Executive of Barnsley MBC Ms Sarah Norman be appointed as Clerk.

Ms Norman would be invited to attend a meeting of the Authority as soon as possible after commencing her role with MBC on the 8<sup>th</sup> July 2019.

RESOLVED: That Ms Sarah Norman, Chief Executive of Barnsley MBC, be appointed as Clerk to the Authority.

#### 7 APPROVAL OF THE CONSTITUTION

A report was considered which sought to gain approval for the Authority's revised Constitution, Scheme of Delegation and Financial Regulations which had been amended to reflect agreed changes in the governance arrangements and day-to-day operation of the Authority.

RESOLVED: That the Authority:

- i) Approve the Authority's Constitution as detailed at Appendix A.
- ii) Approve the Scheme of Delegation as detailed at Appendix B.
- iii) Approve the Financial Regulations as detailed at Appendix C.
- iv) Approve the Arrangements for Dealing with Standards Complaints as detailed at Appendix D.

CHAIR